Department overview

Chemical engineering is a remarkable profession. Chemical engineers can analyze and solve problems across different industries. In other words, within different industries, chemical engineers rely on their knowledge of pure science and chemical engineering to overcome technical problems safely and economically.Thus chemical engineering is a comprehensive major.
Educational and research activities in the department aim to train specialists according to the country’s needs, especially in chemical and petrochemical industries. The department is honored to be known as the academic petrochemical center of excellence. This department has been ranked 50th in the world by the Shanghai ranking of world universities.

Today, the department has more than 26 full-time faculty members with a variety of research interests. There are 300 graduate and 304 undergraduate students in the department. The department has 10 research and 8 educational labs.
The Chemical Engineering department offers a number of speiclaties as follow
•    Thermokinetic and catalyst
•    Transport phenomena
•    Nanotechnology
•    Food industry
•    Biotechnology
•    Environment
•    Separation process
•    Process design

In addition to different laboratories, the department features a computer center with more than 50 computers. Different programming, simulation, and educational workshops and seminars are held for students so they are acquainted with different aspects of their major.

Chairs of this Department
  • Mahmood Rakhshani, 1968-1970
  • Mohammad Edrisi,1970-1972
  • Amir Jafari,1972-1974
  • Morteza Sohrabi,1974-1977
  • Esmaei Jamshidi,1977-1978
  • Hamid Modares,1978-1980
  • Mohammad Reza GolkarNarenji, 1980-1983
  • Hamid Modares, 1983-1985
  • Afshar Taromi, 1985-1987
  • Mohammad Reza Golkar Narenji,1987-1988
  • Bahram Dabir,1988-1991
  • Hamid Modares, 1991-1996
  • Seyed Mehdi Alayi, 1996-1997
  • Esmaeil Jamshidi, 1997-1998
  • Morteza Sohrabi, 1998-2002
  • Esmaeil Jamshidi, 2002-2005
  • Bahram Dabir, 2005-2007
  • Bahram Nasernejad, 2007-2010
  • Abdolreza Aroujalian Mashhadi, 2010-2014
  • Bahram Nasernejad, 2014-2019
  • Farzin Zokaee, 2019-present